Malibu

September 1, 2010

I touched the coast, the ocean, the water. I cried.

Got this whole big feeling of something completed. I never set out to do a loop but it did feel that way.

My ocean.

My coast.

Before getting to the ocean I stopped at a beach joint to eat. This guy came to me and asked :
“is that Suzuki out there yours?”

“ Yeah”

“the jacket, I figured it was yours…”

“hmm hmm”

“I saw the plate from British Columbia, did you come all the way from there? You didn’t trailer the bike?”

“Well, yeah, I came from there and no I did not trailer it, I’ve actually done a whole circle around the US, a 13 000 miles trip by now.”

“With that thing?”

I sighed internally. “that thing” is my most awesome bike.

“Yeah”

“What year is it?”

“’83, 27 years old.”

“That is crazy… Really… That is crazy…”

“What states did you go through?”

“Washington, Oregon, California, Arizona, New Mexico, Texas, Louisiana, Mississippi, Alabama, Tennessee, North Carolina, Virginia, Maryland, New Jersey, Pennsylvania, New York State, Vermont, Montreal, Vermont, New Hampshire, Maine, back through New Hampshire, Vermont, New York state, through part of Ontario, to Michigan, to Wisconsin, to Minnessota, South Dakota, Wyoming, Idaho, Utah, Nevada and now back in California. I’m hoping to go to Montana…

“it’s going to be cold there”

“yeah”

“… that is crazy”

“yes, crazy and awesome”

“well, gotta go…”

“take care”

“take care”

I finished my food which was not really good.

I can smell the ocean, see the water, but not the beach from here. I ride out to the beach, park, walk towards the ocean…

I start to cry.

The wind blows, the gulls are watching the each wave waiting for morsels of food. I sit down on a rock by the water. My mind reels back to leaving Anacortes, to the beach of Maine, to miles and miles and miles. I cry. The wind feels so good. The sound of the waves. The Pacific.

My ocean.

Continental divides, mountain ranges, desert, bayou, monsoon rain, cold nights, awful motels, incredible people. Here I am. Just here, back to the West Coast. California.

A family plays in the waves. A guy stops and takes photos of the water. Like me. He looks at me, nods. I nod back. I won’t engage though. This is my time.

I sit there a while. Then get up and walk back to the bike. A surfer is stretching his arms and upper body next to a small size, old style Toyota pick up truck. I’m heading towards Malibu.

I got Hole’s song running in my mind, Maaalibuuu…. I used to play this when I played cover songs in pubs.

I roll down Highway one. From Ventura I get to Malibu. The air is cool, downright cold actually, I stop to put on more layers. In June everything had a greenish-gold glow. Right now it’s positively burnt by the sun. Summer’s just about over. The campgrounds are not as full as they were even a week ago.

OK, lets get going. Will do the 27 up north and if I stay on course I’ll do Mulholland Drive.

6 Responses to “Malibu”

  1. steveslaughter Says:

    Sea water… tears. Few things in life are as close to one another.

  2. Al Says:

    Hey…no crying, you’re making all the rest of us on this journey with you well up 😉 Scratch that last comment, let it all out girl.
    Hmmm, where has the time gone. Wasn’t it just a few days ago you were just getting ready to go? Whoaaaa or should I say a few months ago. Yes, things that make you go ‘Hmmm’. Well that’s may shortened version of random thoughts for today. Be safe….

  3. Erika Says:

    See you soon

    I love reading your posts I feel like I have been on the trip with you minus all the hard stuff and all the lovely stuff, it has been sweet

    Fait Accompli

    “an accomplished deed.” It is commonly used to describe an action which is completed before those affected by it are in a position to query or reverse it.

    Perhaps the nearest English equivalent is a “done deal”.

    Thanks to wikipedia, the online live love it or hate it encyclopedia

  4. David Walker Says:

    I know your feelings about the Pacific Ocean. I believe that the name comes from Spanish for ‘peace’ and even though it can be anything but peaceful it has a spiritual peacefulness in its vastness and its incredible blueness. I both love it and fear it simultaneously. I have lived by it now since 1950. I could never really be happy ‘inland’ you know. I don’t believe this is an ending. I feel it to be more of a milestone along your way, I look forward to hearing and seeing what is next.

  5. bobskoot Says:

    Danielle:

    You are on a truly epic adventure on that classic bike. I only just discovered your blog and will try to get caught up. You are on a journey we all dream about, perhaps one day . . . we will be able to follow your wheel tracks.

    ride safe
    bob
    Wet Coast Scootin

  6. linda kingston Says:

    danielle, dam girl i was just listening to the friendship song. i havent listened to it since you left, wow! what a most amazing voice you have. you have got to get discovered they don’t know what they are missing,

    be safe, love ya!


Leave a Reply

