January 2, 2013

January first twenty thirteen.

 

Arkadaş. Out of the garage, I put some air in those tires while the engine idles to warm up, it’s been ‘cold’, well, I use this word with caution after seeing a picture my sister in Quebec sent to me this morning where the snow banks are almost taller than her son.

 

I feel great peace this morning, a joyful kind of peace.  I sat in the sun for a few moments, just basking in the glory of the rays, the crispness of the air, the friendliness from everyone around.  

America works really, really hard, most of the time but today, most of America takes the day off and enjoys life and that is palpable. To experience this land, this world, this place.  This California light I crave it  so, it suffuses the place, it feeds me on some intangible level. I am thankful. So thankful. For life, for the beauty of it, for my growing and learning from it.

 

Fulfillment.  The sun shines, I get to ride my bike, however short the ride, I get to hear that engine run.  I get to make music, play that saz…  Simple joys.   I guess I have simple needs. Sun, bike, music and the impossible goodness of my friends…. and of course, espresso.

 

 

On New Year’s Eve last night, I went to a party. I had been surprised by an invitation and decided to go. Yes these things bring the shyness out of me… but I decided to brave and head to my first New Year’s party in a long, long time, I thought : why not this year? Do things differently and not just sit by myself, waiting for midnight to come.

I joined the guests sitting around a campfire under the clear night skies. It was cold but the fire kept us warm. Fire, fire, I love to be near the burning wood in the night.

 

There was a hookah, I didn’t really know anything about them, so I was explained how it works and I gave it a try. I actually liked the experience.

 

It is always interesting to insert oneself in a group of people you don’t know and discover who they are. One of the girls has family in Quebec, it was the first time I met an american that would speak French with a Quebec accent! She told me of her pride for her roots.

 

 

Then I was introduced to an American classic: Beer Pong. Well, I was told that the ‘real’ beer pong should be played with paddles but since the table has irregular dimensions we played without paddles.

 

At each end of a table are 10 beer glasses positioned in rows to form a triangle, 2 players face each other and attempt to throw the ping pong ball in one of the glasses. When one team succeds the other team has to drink the glass of beer. This goes on until one team runs out of glasses.

 

I teamed up with Hal, a strong fellow, mid twenties, calm and composed but with quite the spark. He trained for the military but then was ousted when they realized he had an eye condition that will make him eventually lose his eyesight as there isn’t enough blood going to the optic nerve. He managed to get his initial training done as no one knew what his condition was , but at some point his file was reviewed and because of the poor night vision he was ousted, his records expunged as if they never existed. So he continued down the path of life and became a massage therapist.

 

Later some more guests arrived, one of them, a gentle looking guy that I will call Will, surprised me with his stories… He was been a drug dealer for 7 years. He now works at a Starbucks and some of the stories he shared about that were hair raising. That particular store is in an area located at the junction of two enemy gangs, so there are stories of shell casings, blood trails and the tales of junkies passing out in the stores… I have not encountered this sort of environment, it brings a different reality, the one you see dramatized in TV shows. Strange, strange…

 There is something different, this is not Canada.  I have been kind of a hermit these last few months and I find these images of these lives otherworldly.  Reality is one of the angles of a multifaceted mirror ball.  

I heard more stories, more viewpoints on different realities, I laughed, smiled and hung out feeling the vibrations.  We had the countdown…. 5, 4, 3, 2, 1,…  and there it was.  The New Year.  Fresh and tingling.  Full of promise.  I don’t know why but I think this will be a good one for a lot of people.  Maybe the End of the World as we knew it did happen and this is Year One.  I like that idea.  Ideas have power.  Why not adopt that one? 

 

So here I am, at the threshold of this new year. I don’t have resolutions, but I have some goals. I have been working on envisioning what I would like to materialize in the coming months.  With help from Ozzy I laid down the pieces of the puzzle of my particular goals into a meaningful road map, I have a fairly clear idea of what I must do to realize them.  and it means I will be very busy in the next 3 months or so. 

 

The two main things for 2013 are :

Releasing the new CD in the first trimester. Nothing fancy but have it out there…

 

Prepare for a trip overseas to Europe and Turkey so to leave in the spring.

 

Then there is this one: How to get the book published.  I started to explore options there and the main suggestions from publishers are:  Hang out in book conferences to meet literary agents or publishers…  Yikes.  Kind of sounds like, spend money, waste time trying to find a needle in a haystack.  I would rather spend my time creating…  So I don’t know what to do with this one.  

I’ll have to see what comes..  many people speak of self publishing then the publishers tell you they do not care or believe or support self published writers or works…  I do understand, why would they?  That will be something to learn, explore, develop.  

I am looking forward to take the road again. I don’t know if I’ll have a bike or not overseas…  I don’t know much… but I know I must go.  

I just read “the Pilgrimage” From Paolo Cohelo.  I realized reading this that my journey has in fact been a pilgrimage, that the lessons they talk about in the book, I have lived them on the Road.  The Pilgrimage they describe in the book is the road to Santiago in Spain. There is, they explained more roads Yielding different lessons like the Road to Rome…   

I will keep heeding the calls I hear so I will be heading to the Road to Istanbul.  What its learning will be I do not know.  All I know, is that I must go, I want to go and I am willing to learn its lessons.  

Happy New Year.  Joy, Love, Curiosity, Adventures, Courage and Gratefulness to all of you. 

 

5 Responses to “”

  1. David Walker Says:

    Happy New Year dearest Danielle, I hope your dreams and wishes come to pass with beauty and grace.
    Love,
    David

  2. Danielle Liard Says:

    Happy new year Danielle. Hope you come through this way on your travels Eastward.

    Much love

    Danielle

  3. circleblue Says:

    Happy New Year. May you have wondrous, productive, and most importantly, a beautiful year.
    ~Keith

  4. Charlotte Says:

    BOOK!

    Contact Peter Egan!

    He is a friend on my Facebook!

    I am sure he can point you in the right direction!

  5. Charlotte Says:

    Arrgggg… who I meant to say was Reg Kittrele…


Leave a Reply

