The coming journey

January 22, 2013

I’m still under the spell. A night ride, nothing very long, 20 minutes maybe.

 

It’s been cold here and now it’s so warm. Ozzy was planting geraniums and fine herbs in the backyard two days ago. The trees sport the dead leaves of what should be fal, it was 80 degrees F today and it is January…  I am confused

 

So I’m riding with yellow level cold gear: the heated vest but no Gore tex shell or long tights under the leathers. I rode down the 210 from Pasadena. Quick acceleration and up the ramp I am in the midst of freeway night traffic, it’s almost 11 PM. Monday night of a day that I did not realize was a holiday for America. The traffic is sparse.

Go baby go.  Vrrrrr, we course, the trajectory is relaxed, there is much room between cars.  A shiny, steady semi, on a night run heading God knows where.  I can almost see the outline of the mountains to my left.  Dark blue against black blue.  

I roll through banks of warm air, the smell of stew, the smell of something burning then smoke. Then colder air and warm air again, the sweet smell of baking.  

 

This last Sunday I cleaned up Arkadaş. I had not done so since the November rain I had ridden through and it was filthy.  I had been feeling guilty, that task having been on my “to do” list for a good 2 months.  I spent two hours on the drive train alone, tooth brush, rag and kerosene. Then I cleaned the top part of the bike, it shines.  It smiles.   I’m not done yet, I will do the engine with the tooth brush too. Then wax and polish the painted parts.  I will have a “maintenance session in the near future too: Oil change, plugs, and that broken speedo rotor to replace.

 

This bike…

 

I stop and look at it, every now and then, and feel so lucky. I thought of when I got it and the generosity that took place for me to get it. I thought of how these bikes keep landing in my life. How they put me back on the road when I think I will soften into one place and grow roots.

 

In the dark on the 210 I wonder what will appear in front of me, within the circle of the headlight beams. The road has some bumps that I can see coming via the way cars bounce over them. I lay low.  I will always remember that mattress lying on the middle of a Tennessee freeway in the night.  All that we trust, take for granted.

My tires are getting worn.  I feel them on the grooved concrete of the road.  But I may not get them changed for a while…

 

With the arrival of the new year, I have plunged into my next project. I’ve been drafting documents: bio, resume, my story and I’ve been detailing my next project, dream, target, goal… however you want to call it.

The thought was first born over dinners with Melanie and Ozzy in late 2010 early 2011: Going overseas. Then, when I was in Ottawa, living among a good many Turks, I was told of Istanbul, how I HAD to see that city, how I would not believe its size and scope, then came to me the Turkish music and the saz.

All of this simmered through the months.  At the time I did not know how much it would pervade my universe, but every event that happened from that time on, from my breakup, to the trip to Winnipeg and the deep philosophical and musical discussions with Davidian, to my minimalist lifestye, to the arrival of the saz, to the deeper and deeper discovery of this music gradually were leading me to this plan.

On a September evening I had a trance like moment, I was sitting outside with Ozzy, we had a little candle glistening in the night, he was drinking a glass of wine and playing Angry Birds on his tablet, I was playing my guitar, eyes closed, I started to play something that was different, foreign.  I lost track of time, space, sounds and I suddenly traveled. How to explain? I traveled. Images appeared to me, words. “There are no accidents”  After a while, I opened my eyes, and in the dark in front of me was the moon between the fronds of a palm tree, my eyes were opened but  I wasn’t in San Dimas. I was somewhere else, somewhere I’ve been, somewhere I’ll be. It was profoundly intense. Then I knew.  It was not like a worded message but I knew.  This was a call.  One I had to respond to.  

In 2010 I did give myself over to the Forces of the Unseen, I told them then that I was ready and willing to learn, ready and willing to serve my purpose. I kept telling them and requesting the learning. And it definitely came. I believe this is part of this. The Quest continues. And no, I am not drinking, on drugs or crazy. I just know.

I am going overseas.  I will  land in England or France, find a bike, then ride to Istanbul to meet my fate, meet my tasks. To learn about the music that moved me so and took over my soul back in Ottawa.

I am planning to leave this continent and journey in the spring.  I plan to take trips to the Black Sea, to Anatolia, to the southern coast and find the music, the legends, go on the steps of Rumi and learn as much as I can. I need to find a saz teacher and I wish to see, hear, document as much music as I can.

I will need help… What I am working on right now are the support materials for a travel grant proposals to the Canada Council for the Arts and the materials to build a crowdfunding project.

I will need to find a bike in Europe… I considered going bikeless, almost convinced myself, slept on it and woke up with the knowingness that the bike had to be part of this journey. Last week-end, at Berts (the largest motorcycle store in the world!) I sat on a number of different bikes, I am looking at gas mileage, a gallon of gas is $10 over there so MPG matters! After some internet research the Ninja 250 has good gas mileage as well as the SV650 2008 and over. We talked about the Royal Enfield, the Ducati 660, the Honda CB 250.  We will see what the Gods of the roads will grant me…  I trust it will be the right thing.

 

I will keep you informed, but be ready, comes spring, we’re back on the road. I hope you’ll be along for the ride. 

5 Responses to “The coming journey”

  1. John Says:

    Danielle, Why don’t you try GSR. They are international and seem to have quite a few members in England and Europe.

  2. Danielle Liard Says:

    Hope you pass by here on your way East and beyond. What happened to the page here? Black on gray, kind of hard to read.

    much love
    Danielle


    • it is unlikely but not impossible! we will see how it all happens…

      the page… well I pasted from a word processing program and it kept the original color… wordpress changes all the time and this did not used to be an issue but now it is… I changed the color..
      be well! big hugs

  3. circleblue Says:

    I will be here. Watching. Waiting. Perhaps to help, but always remembering you are there and you are questing.

    Be safe. Be smart. Ride strong.
    ~Keith


Leave a Reply

