Motion Forward…

February 23, 2013

These last weeks have been focused mainly on getting together a grant application for the Canada Council for the Arts for an artist grant to go study music in Istanbul Turkey.  The deadline is March first and what I need is to fill out an application.  Write in 750 words what it is I am going to do.  Put together a budget.  And I need 3 pieces of music to represent me, the project and what I do presented in either in video or recorded format.

I had plans of recording with Forrest in January.  I was really wanting to be organized and do this early.  We were waiting Forrest and I to hear from the person who had offered help and nothing was coming forth.  Finally we learned that there had been some serious health related family issues and that this option was out.

Came February.

a02

A good 10 days ago we set up and recorded the 3 songs in a church.  This  picture is me on Arkadas heading out to the recording session, I have the saz on my back, the guitar on the back of the bike, a mini amplifier in the saddle bags and the cables…  A friend called it the musical Ninja and I like this!

a01

 

 

A few days later when we sat down to listen to the fruits of our labors,  I heard how it sounded I knew it wasn’t good enough…  Forrest had done an outstanding job with adding percussion parts but my playing was not up to par.  Gulp. Here  we now stand past the middle of the month.  Pressure rises…  Yikes!  Forrest is now really, really busy working a FT job and having to juggle gigs and rehearsals at night…  I need these songs by the 28th…

Came February 16

I’m sick like a dog.  Obliterated.  There is no way I can do anything….  Pressure keeps rising, yet there is nothing I can do but try to rest.

 

Came February 21st

a10

Last night, Forrest had the afternoon and evening open.  We set up in my bedroom.  One microphone, the laptop, Logic (recording software) and I get the saz.  I am still dizzy and weak from this brutal flu bug.  My muscles are just a bunch of inflamed tissue, my hands are stiff…  But I have to do this and thankfully Forrest is a very generous and patient being.

a12

After a few takes music is starting to emerge from my sorry body.  Huston: we have a take!  I put down the saz and do a vocal, thankfully, the flu did not hurt my voice other than lowering it.  I sing.  It works.  Then Forrest records doumbek and a couple other percussion instruments.  We have a song.

a13

So… two more to go…

a16

Forrest is busy wall to wall until the 27th… when we will record again and hopefully magic will occur.  I now have 5 days to woodshed the songs so that I am able to shine next Wednesday…

 

I do trust that all comes in good time and that all is “Perfect” but this is, I must admit, this wall of a deadline fast appoaching is  unnerving!

In case you don’t know,  the reason for all this hoopla over a grant application is this :

 

I am heading overseas for 9 months, to Turkey, to study the saz and Turkish music!  The grant would help cover travel costs and subsistence costs.

I dream of going over there, finding a motorcycle, ride from France to Istanbul, study for six months and go for discovery trips on the bike, with the saz.  A kind of logical segue from what I have done since 2010.  Of course with my gypsy life, I have not really been one to accumulate riches so to help make this come true I am also preparing a Crowdfunding project.

 

logo-44f50d03a86344ba487d754df65133b0

In March I will have the presentation ready on RocketHub, I will let you know. There are rewards to be had for the level of donations and It will include the download of my yet to be released new album “Beat it to Pieces” Yes, the one that many have been waiting for for so long. This will be your chance to get it first! Crowdfunding is about getting people excited to be part of something. If you believe in the cause, please share my project around with your friends and your network, every little bit counts. It is so incredibly exciting. I am barely touching the ground.

I found a teacher in Istanbul, the rest is all yet to materialize.

 

In order to raise funds I am also trying to sell whatever I have that I am not using.  I was thinking of IO, my 83 Suzuki GS 750 ES that is sitting at a friends garage since December 2010.  I thought of selling it for parts.  Today I tried to put it up on Ebay and I could not do it…  a strange sort of internal ” don’t do it”.   Here it is in all its glory…

b11

I will follow my gut… I am sure there is a reason, there always is one.

 

On this I say goodbye.  Talk to you soon.

 

One Response to “Motion Forward…”


  1. IO should gain a place of honor in your life. IO is symbolic of so much that the effort required to part him out is somewhat akin to butchering a departed dear pet. He can serve you yet if only symbolically and eventually as a centerpiece SOMEWHERE, SOMETIME.


Leave a Reply

