Closer and realler…

May 9, 2013

Last night after two days of searching, asking, getting information, punching endless amounts of destinations, times, and itineraries, I got my flights…

I am truly, really going… to… Turkey

I used Orbitz and got deals that saved me $500 over the AAA travel agent price and $700 over the price offered by an online “multiple-destinations” website. I spent probably 8 hours online but in the end it was worth it.  I will fly Luftansa, Turkish Airlines and Air Canada!

I’m flying out on May 26th, that gives me some time to wrap everything up nicely.  I have a fairly long  “to do” list that I have started to tackle this week… Hair cut, glasses, blood test, fundraising, flight, hotels and trying to keep studying Turkish through all this.

What is looming right now is the end of my fundraising project on RocketHub.  It ends officially Sunday the 12th of May at 7 AM PST, so really, it ends Saturday night for us Westcoasters.  On the site so far I have raised $2120.  A few friends donated off the internet.  I am so amazed and thankful for those gifts!!!

 

the whole project is on Rocket Hub here:  http://www.rockethub.com/projects/22672-danielle-hebert-istanbul-bound-a-journey-of-music-and-discovery

 

If you feel like contributing,  every dollar is going to be put to good use :  accommodations, food and lessons on the saz.

I’ve just taped and posted a new video, Here is a link to that clip : http://youtu.be/D_OWZzlqN4E

 

Last Friday we  had our last gig in California before my departure, some VERY special people showed up and it was incredibly heart warming.  Forrest and I played our hearts out and gave our all.  Forrest brought the house down with an ending on “I tell my heart” where we worked up a special “double kick” extravaganza where the man could let it all hang out!  I love to let him fly as he can indeed rise to unfathomable heights when he plays music.  He is truly a monster in the best sense of the word on these drums!

A smile is worth a thousand words!

A smile is worth a thousand words!

Mr Robinson doing his thing!

Mr Robinson doing his thing!

some of the best people I know

some of the best people I know

 

Klatchers!

Klatchers!

 

More of some of the best people I know

More of some of the best people I know

Forrest and I gettin' er done!

Forrest and I gettin’ er done!

 

For the occasion I brought my glorious Gibson ES 175, the pedal board, the saz, the Go Guitar… it took a while to set it all up!  I thought, last show, lets bring the whole artillery…  I also got to use my brand new toy, a pre-amplifier for the saz (I had major feedback and volume issues without) and for the first time I had decent sound.  For this, I must thank Hector and Mona, who helped me get the pre-amp (and LR Baggs gizmo for the techies) by sponsoring 2/3rds of the price as a donation for my journey to Turkey : THANK YOU HECTOR AND MONA!!!

Sunday it was the Renaissance Faire, I had promised Forrest to go with him for his birthday, I had never been to that sort of event and it was really dreamy, interesting, funny, amazing and I had a day I totally enjoyed

A faerie

A faerie

 

Some nobles hanging out

Some nobles hanging out

 

A fight to the death

A fight to the death

 

Even Jousting!

Even Jousting!

 

A great day that I ended with a pulled pork sandwich and 2 dark chocolate dipped strawberries!

 

I am pretty much over the bike crash from a couple week ends ago.  The bike will need some love but I’ll take care of this when I get back… it also needs tires, my beautiful Michelin Pilot III’s are almost done for.  I’ve covered over 24 thousand kilometers with them, that is REALLY good mileage for motorcycle tires.  I should check the exact amount…  It will be strange to leave my Arkadaş behind…  I know I will miss that… But this journey is going to bring so much…  wow… I can finally think about all this… I’ve been so busy…  It’s happening!

It really is!!

This blog is still going to be “the” place where all the events are told in depth.. Wow.  Istanbul in 20 days…

Love you all!

 

d

 

 

 

 

 

2 Responses to “Closer and realler…”


  1. Ok super cool Danielle, where did that lovely video come from?


Leave a Reply

