10 days to take off

May 17, 2013

Luckily, this week is not racing by too fast.  

You know how sometimes you start on the Monday all hopeful that you’ll get so much done, then suddenly it’s Friday and what happened between these two moments of awareness is just a blur. 

 

Sunday the crowdfunding effort on RocketHub ended. It was both a bit sad and a huge relief.  Never one to be very good at asking, it felt good to be able to stop asking.  But I must say that there was much magic to behold throughout the campaign.  I will put together a thank you video with a recap of the whole thing.  Thank you so much to all who helped, be it with money, big or small, thoughts, wishes…  It all matters. 

 

So here I stand on the edge of a new departure.  On the edge of a new world for me and an ancient one by North American standards.  There has been a flurry of “Oh, I need to do this, I need to get that” coming at me.  I’ve had to look at my clothes even and realize that both my boots and my shoes were shot so I got a new pair, wore them for the first time today! I realized that I needed pyjamas!  And things like an electrical adapter and power converter to deal with the European electrical facilities, which are different from here, so I can use the laptop and other electrical gizmos.  I got protective sleeves for my credit cards to avoid being scanned and defrauded.  I needed a new bag as mine in the very recent past just decided to start breaking down with holes and fraying… and on and on..

 

My bike here is in serious need of love.  New tires, repairs from the recent crash (fender, cowling) valve adjustment…  But it will have to wait until I come back.  For those liking those sorts of numbers, I have put conservatively, 25 thousand KM (that is 15 thousand miles) on those Michelin Pilot III tires!    I say conservatively because when the speedometer went out twice since I put the tires on and I lost count of the exact mileage I covered.  So anyone looking for durable tires, I would say those fit the bill.  

The list of things done and ready gets longer:

Flights

Hotel for the first week in Istanbul
A saz teacher
Money to support me for a few months
A couple of options to find long term accommodations after the first week

 

I have all these dreams of the things I want to achieve there, I hope I can reach towards those with all my energy and will.  Of course life will always throw whatever it will throws at you, and I am ready to accept that too.  

So here we are… 10 days to go before taking off.  Incredible isn’t it?  

I must say, I am feeling very alive.  The electron that I am is going to be able to return to its natural state of flow.  

 

 

2 Responses to “10 days to take off”

  1. David Says:

    Dear Danielle, I hope that this adventure leads you to further joy in and from your music and that you find what it is you are searching for.
    love,
    david

  2. Charlotte Says:

    Ever the adventuress… I will live vicariously through you on your travels… 🙂 🙂 🙂

    Charlotte


Leave a Reply

