Sunday in Istanbul, Sunday in Taksim

June 9, 2013

I woke up quite tired, I was kind of sick a couple of days ago, took my potion, felt somewhat better yet still tired, this morning I was just slow, slow, slow.  So I sat down and did computer stuff.  Later I decided to go outside, there’s never a dull moment out here…  I walked around, ended up in a cafe where espresso seemed like a possibility.  My espresso habit has been seriously affected here… for one, they are very expensive,up to  9 liras for a double.  that’s almost two meals!   This little cafe was cool.  I sat down, got the drink, my head is swimming in something that feels almost like a cold.  I studied some Turkish.  I have not been in my books and my vocabulary at this point, just swirls together, merging, mixing, confusing itself within my neurons.  So I sat down and reviewed some verbs and such.

A little visitor came to see me…

a49

He took residence on my lap for the duration of my stay there…

a51

Then a dog came in and settled himself on the floor…

a53

After the caffeine started to really course through my system I headed back out.

a54

I was approaching Istiklal and the current political reality became very visible

a55

a56

a57

a62

in Taksim there are thousands of people, it’s festive, beautiful, amazing, mind blowing.  All are peaceful, dancing, singing, Kardes Turkuler is singing as I get there.

a64

a66

a67

a69

a70

a71

a76

as I approached the actual park there were tents, campers, and a display of images taken during the protests… here are photos of those photos

a77

a80

a81

a83

a84

a85

a88

a89

a91

a92

a94

a95

a97

There is music everywhere.  People dancing.  Singing.  Food. Life.  It’s beyond anything I’ve ever experienced..  Yes I am lucky to be here.

there are rumors that tomorrow the police is going to be back.  I hope not…  Last night I hear there was brutal clashes in poor Kurdish and working people neighborhoods.

well, it’s getting late…  talk to you soon

2 Responses to “Sunday in Istanbul, Sunday in Taksim”

  1. Forrest Robinson Says:

    I love hearing about all the festive dancing and singing! ALL THOSE LOVELY SPIRITS out there enjoying themselves. That is a beautiful thing! Be safe and enjoy the beauty, Danielle.

    Seraphim

  2. Nina Halliday Says:

    I’m imagining you keeping safe and happy. Learning a new language is easier if you hear it everyday. Language is also about culture. Not possible for me to travel to far off places at this time so I’m very appreciative of your photographs and your observations. You are a brave woman Danielle. My love and prayers go to you from Vancouver. Nina


Leave a Reply

