Went for a walk

September 13, 2013

crowds and a TOMA negotiating for space on Istiklal

crowds and a TOMA negotiating for space on Istiklal

After practicing my Turkish then music for a number of hours I set out for a walk.  At the Tunel end of Istiklal, the police was already setting up

Police getting into position amidst tourists

Police getting into position amidst tourists

 

more of the same

more of the same

I took some back streets I don’t usually take and saw quite a few little places I want to come back to.  Arriving at Taksim Square, this view was there… then when you looked around, right and left much, much police were set up.

Sundown at Taksim Square

Sundown at Taksim Square

 

Waiting across Taksim Square

Waiting across Taksim Square

I went across the square, into places I don’t normally go and saw this sign, I guess for some, this could look like Nirvana after all that has happened and all that might come.

seen on the way.

seen on the way.

 

Tonight's half moon and a bit

Tonight’s half moon and a bit

From Gezi Park

From Gezi Park

a few panoramic views…  I like those!

Taksim Square from the park's border

Taksim Square from the park’s border

 

Police encampment

Police encampment

 

Monument

Monument

 

dramatic skies

dramatic skies

I walked the rest of the way, despite all the police presence it is a peaceful night (so far) in Beyoglu.  I stopped for espresso, got a double, some chocolate.. I’m ready now to go back to practice …

All my love

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

One Response to “Went for a walk”

  1. connie pryor Says:

    Very good nice pics.


Leave a Reply

