2014 has started

January 7, 2014

Ahhhh….

Nice and warm, sunny.

This new year shines a beautiful light. I have been playing a lot… Last night was Karakedi, with Joris and Eren and a special guest on trumpet, Jan Dekker who is also from Holland and who is just an amazing musician.

at Atolye Kuledibi last Friday

at Atolye Kuledibi last Friday

the Chillout gang came out in force

the Chillout gang came out in force

Jan joined us on stage

Jan joined us on stage

There is a vortex of things happening, more music, more everything and daily signs that I am more and more part of the fabric of this place. There are so many tourists, people who come and go that I believe there is a bit of a mechanism where the newcomer is welcome but not part of. One of the first questions a Turk in Istanbul will ask you is: “How long are you staying?”

I have been very “un-proactive” about pushing things, about trying to make things happen. I have just let things come to me. Partly because culturally the interactions between people are quite different than they are in the West and I didn’t want to miss the realities by pushing an agenda that might not even be real or logical.

Baglama teacher

Baglama teacher

It is very much about who you know and since I knew no one I took the time to do so. I am starting to see the results of this. First good news: I finally have a baglama teacher. Yes. Last week I had my first lesson and this feels like it might just work. My friend Sam the percussionist had introduced me to the folks at Akoustik Saz Evi. I went back there when I needed strings for my saz. While there I asked if they knew anyone who had a recording studio as I needed to record a voice over, Oktay said “I have a studio..” Then I visited as I was walking around one night, I had some questions about my baglama method, Oktay said: “we have a teacher…” so I decided to plunge and booked a lesson.

Karakedi on Monday night

Karakedi on Monday night

With the gigs, same sort of process, I went to an open stage at Karakedi, they liked it, booked me. From there now, I was introduced to the guy at the club across the street and he wants to book me. Yavas, yavas (slowly, slowly) things are materializing. I was thinking this last week how I’ve always been a late bloomer. I am not one to arrive somewhere and revolutionize things. It takes time. It’s my way.

friends

friends


on a device

on a device

Maryam and Nessa

Maryam and Nessa

on a device 02

on a device 02

on a device 03

on a device 03

kimberley and joris

kimberley and joris

playing

playing

And so it goes these days. I feel at home at Chillout, I’ve found a groove.

And before I forget, Happy New Year to all of you. May you shut off your TV, stop reading and watching the news. May you see your brother’s and sister’s eyes and smile along with them. May you see this life that is right there in your hands, amazing, beautiful. May you trust that all is perfect as it happens. May you know that you are loved.

beautiful Sarah

beautiful Sarah

Joris ve ben

Joris ve ben

yours truly

yours truly

One Response to “2014 has started”

  1. Flip Says:

    Been thinking a lot about you lately… I hope the new year brings you peace and happiness. LA is a lonlier place without chasing you around to hear your sweet melodies. I am looking forward to hear the Turkish influence on your music. Flip


Leave a Reply

