A new song

March 7, 2014

A new song.

I caught it yesterday.

It had been teasing me subtly and then it came to me while sitting with Maryam. She had been wanting to write so we said, lets go have a cafe and write together. We did, sat together, face to face, with our laptops opened on a blank page.

The words came to me.

Later when I got home, after socializing with my roommates, I finally walked into my room, closed the door, as everyone was going to sleep and pulled the guitar out of the bag, it had been in there for days, I had only been playing the baglama… I played so quietly not wanting to disturb anyone’s sleep… the words were staring at me from the laptop screen… I got a pen and paper ready to write the chords, the Iphone set so I could record as soon as something would be appearing… sometimes these things appear and disappear faster than I can capture them.

At 4:30 AM I had it…

Today I ironed everything, tonight I want to play it live…

I will let you know how it goes.

Tto hear it, well, come to Istanbul, then Beyoğlu, walk to my tower, Galata tower that is, got to the back onto Galata Kulesi sokağı walk about 15 steps and Atölye Kuledibi is right there, on the right hand side. Ah… you cannot? it’s too far? hmm… sorry then, you will have to wait a little 🙂

2 Responses to “A new song”

  1. Danielle Liard Says:

    You naughty tease you! 😉

    Danielle


Leave a Reply

