short bits…

June 24, 2014

What a day.  hmm… actually it`s been quite the week.  

I had a vivid, vivid dream a couple of nights ago.  I had this full production, film and narration about the nature of woman.  I woke up and the words were weaving themselves clearly, so eloquently into a theory.  A brilliant expose.  There were beautiful images..  and I tried to grasp it, and I said to myself: `i`ll remember in the morning, this is too clear.` of course I didn`t.  

I must keep a notebook by the bed.  Lately there has been many extremely clear dreams.  I wake up around 4 or 5 am stunned… then I panic because I should go back to sleep because I need to wake up early for work…  There always seem to be a conflict between jobs that you keep to pay the bills and your job as the unique human being that you are that requires that you listen and obey those whimsical commands, be it mid day or mid night.  

All I can remember is that it validated all that is female that is now negated, even vilified in our twisted societies (east and west) 

Be it the burka or the bikini, in my eyes they both are symbols of the denial of what is truly woman, turning the feminine into a sort of slavery.  Diminishing of the female spirit into something that only recognizes her as a body.  

***

Today I recorded.  Oh how humbling it is each time.  with Volga, from Turkey on darbuka, Joan from Spain on classical guitar and myself singing and playing.  We had a struggle with sound.  No headphones for us all…  so we were trying to find each other in the sound scape, used that we are to loud volume and now trying to find the dynamics.  Towards the end, we started to get a grasp… but I always am quite critical with these things… once we were outside, we listened for a few short moments in the control room and we started to smile so that is a good sign.  We are dreaming out loud about going to play on tour in Katmandu, japan, india…  Volga has contacts there…  and I said, maybe we can come and tour in Canada?  USA?  

***

What is the heart?  Well I am starting to think it is a hoax.  I saw this today… and I know this..  and I am trying to get to this…  

“Try not to confuse love with attachment.  

Attachment is about fear and dependency and has more to do with love of self than with love of another.  

Love without attachment is the purest love because it isn’t about what others can give you because you are empty.  

It is about what you can give others because you are already full.” 

Hmmm… working on it.  failing, trying, failing again…  To be continued i guess…

***

Other than that?  
I have my ear to the ground.  New winds…  a change I feel.   I have been meeting new faces and they are bringing new ideas, new realities.  Istanbul is incredible that way…  every turn, every week, magic is to be found…  I need to go back to meditating…  

All my love, Oh beautiful friends…  

Leave a Reply

