Dalyan’s life

August 7, 2014

I am tired enough to just go sleep. But it is too surreal. I sit on the top terrasse of my new home downtown Dalyan. I mean, yesterday I was in Istanbul… I just finished my first night of playing, yes, all was well. The moon right now is getting tones of fire orange over her shininess. In the water, a river running right at the foot of the street where I am, she leaves an orangey trail sparkling in the night.

from my window

from my window

from my window, other side

from my window, other side

and the other side

and the other side

The wind is cooling. I have been sweating so much. I woke up in the morning absolutely drenched as if someone had thrown a bucket of water over me. Actually my black shirt from yesterday was streaked with white, first I thought “is this anti perspirant? No I don’t use that stuff… is it dust? No it’s… it’s salt! Salt from my sweating body. Incredible.

Clean air. This alone makes for a drastic change from Istanbul. But I think that the most remarkable thing is the fact that everyone is just relaxed. NO matter where you are from, a tourist, a local, old or young there this relaxed state in which all seem to operate. Side by side. Everyone in their shorts, bikinis,scarves and long skirts or whatever they are wearing it all goes, no judgement in the air, that feels good, very deeply.

So here I am. There is water everywhere, maybe it is the water soothing everyone. Maybe it’s the fact that it is a vacation spot. So no one is stressed. Today we rode down the river on a boat to the sea. Instead of a road mini bus it is a water minibus, small boat where everyon sits and looks at the gorgeousness of the nature around. In the hills by the water, facing town, an ancient society had carved toombs for their kings and royal family in the rock face… the rough hills speak of ancient men who lived, walked, breathed, loved, and fought here.

funeral home of kings

funeral home of kings

another view

another view

The boat winds it’s way on the water, surrounded by reeds that must have been at least 9 to 12 feet high. Then we got to the sea. I say we, as I have made a new friend, her name is Nihan, a Turkish girl from Kadiköy, she is here with us for a few days (us this time being Selda and Neco, who run Aleph) to rest before she starts writing her sociology thesis about Gezi Park, more precisely about the humor that was used to confront the madness of it all. I want to read this. So Nihan and I got off the boat, walked about 2 minutes and there we were, facing what is at the junction of the Agean and Mediterranean seas. Quickly we slid off the street clothes and walked into the water… WARM! It was warm!! the Pacific is so cold… this was warm and clear… and as we progressed, the sea bottom ever so slowly got deeper, and in the depth a gentle coolness would wrap itself on your legs… it was magical.

Nihan on the boat

Nihan on the boat

on our way to the beach

on our way to the beach

the beach

the beach

the sea

the sea

I said it about Greece but this land is made for humans. The land is so rich in food, so warm, so giving, a place where a human can live at a human pace. Human size. It is so beautiful.

On this beach I hear also live an endangered species of turtles… I have to look up the name. The beach closes at night as they head from under the sand and go into the water. If they stay hidden, they die…

We got there late, 4 pm or so, it soon is 6 pm and I wish to go back to get organized for my first night. So against our hearts and desires we turned back, the long winding way on the river… there is a “ferryman” and it reminds me immediately of mythical stories of bridge men, ferry men, charging too much, stopping a hero, it does indeed feel mythical.

the ferryman's station

the ferryman’s station

on the way back to Dalyan

on the way back to Dalyan

Yes it is an immense change of pace. Motion is always the best way for me. The moment I get in motion the whole universe seem to align with my purposes… bringing what I need and often more when I need it. “You’re lucky” people say. I don’t think it works that way. I think it’s the will. The engagement into one’s vision. Maybe it is because I am an artist and I am used to imagine and pull things, concepts out of thin air, or from a thin thread. But to me it seems to be the only way. The other way entails hanging, holding, the fear of losing what one has.

the 3\4 moon last night

the 3\4 moon last night

I guess it’s just about taking one step after another, welcome the unexpected and be flexible. It’s about ackowledging the fear but also ackowledging the strength we have, to know we can face whatever life brings. Oh this earth, this life, they are indeed amazing.

So I think this will be good. I am surrounded by good people. The guitar seems OK after being practically drowned by the rain that came through my ceiling on the day the twister came to Istanbul. There are some in Istanbul I miss very much already, but there is nothing I can do but trust that what must be, is…

all my love

water

water

Leave a Reply

