Where are you?

June 21, 2015

a41

I stir restless.

Where are you?
Where are you my passion, my anima?
Where are you my boldness?

Sunsets on endless highways. Full moons over Istanbul.
Bursting senses and complete abandon?

Is it night now or are the curtains shut? I cannot see.
Maybe it’s my eyes, flailing a little more daily
abandoning me.

This world goes, far and wide
Single men and mothers and aggressive teenagers.
There is no milk in the store, the cat climbed up the stairs
while the ants conquer the kitchen.

Where are you?
Where are you my well of emotions?
Where are you my determination?

To burn in the 100 degree heat, sweat and not quite faint.
Conquer the pain and breathe like a Ninja.

Cars and clothes and things and sparkle
Monster cameras around the necks of sweaty, confused middle-aged tourists
Fat asses bound in bursting, expensive fabric, swishing.
I stare and wait for the light to change to green.

Where are you?
Where are you my brash disregard, my defiance?
Where are you my free spirit?

An open pot of oily white rice left to dry
Cheesy pop music, wafting in, soiling my contemplation at 4 AM

Endless nights absorbed, danced, shared, until the sun re-enters on the other side
Deep breaths that would swallow the whole sky and all of its clouds
Sweet exhaustion, when the mitochondria gave all it had
to love all until absolute osmosis

Where are you?
I want to feel laughter roll out of my throat like a torrent
To be dauntless. Again.
These purple walls, are they closing in?
Or maybe I have not opened my eyes, yet.

One Response to “Where are you?”

  1. Erika Koenig Says:

    Dear Daniel,

    I wish you could come back I am and have been thinking of you

    Perhaps from a long distance Echoing these same words for Me, you to look for the purpose

    Is often an endless circle We don’t have to understand To live our own lives

    We route in the dirt To look after a small garden Watch flowers and food grow

    I wish these for you I love and miss you

    And wish for you Passion again

    Erika

    >


Leave a Reply

