Vote!

October 7, 2015

I have been following the Canadian Elections from afar.  About two months ago I went on the GOC website to figure out how to vote from abroad.  I was led down a page where it was written that I had to fill a questionnaire before being  “approved” to vote.  That was a great surprise.  I filled out a form immediately.  To this day I have not received any answer from this.  Because of the Bill C-51 I could not help but think that if the government can now look into my FB page, they can see where my political leanings go and conveniently never answer me.  I also thought it was some sort of hoop to jump, the kind they like to put out there so people give up.

About 6-8 days ago, I called Elections Canada, I explained the above, I was told:

“Oh we didn’t have our program set up on those dates.”   Hmm hmmm… so what was it that I filled out?  She had no idea. She then told me that the only way to vote at this point in time was by mail.  I said:

“I am in Turkey… will the letter with the ballot reach me in time? ” and with the high rate of failure in sending things in or out of this country how can I possibly hope to be able to have time to vote?  Obviously she couldn’t guarantee that.  She said they would send me the voting ballot as fast as possible.  So I went and filled out the online form and crossed my fingers.  Well, to my great joy and surprise the packaged arrived yesterday.  Tonight I filled my ballot.  I also contacted the Canadian Consulate again.  At this point I have already tried to reach them 3 times by email  and I attempted to go there in person for one visit.  No answers.  It started to feel like one of those conspiracy-theory things.  And I must say, with policies like Bill C-51  there is no reason to have a shred of faith in the government.  Tonight I re-contacted them via email.  tomorrow I’ll try by phone. if there is no one to answer, I still have time to go with a courrier.

But I did get the ballot.  It felt like a sacred artifact.  I have a voice.  I filled it.  It sits on my desk now, It will go back to the homeland at the latest Thursday or Friday.  Politically we have a huge responsibility, I feel at this moment, the whole future of our country, our lands, our rights, how we want to be as a society(one of sharing and helping or one of brutal corporate reasoning? (all for profits)).

The voters that brought this madman (I am not one of them, I voted in every election and I certainly did not vote for this monster.  But despite the obvious racism, despite the fact that the man was openly corrupted, openly funded by the people who funded George Bush, despite the knowledge that in two past elections there was fraud.  Despite closing parliament, despite the fact that this party is chin deep into money scandals, despite all the lies about the cost of the war planes about he fact that Canada allowed torture on prisoners… and so on and so forth…   Despite all these facts which are just the tip of the iceberg, people STILL give this party their votes…

“we get what we deserve” a friend of mine said.  I didn’t understand when he said it.  Now I do. Among many of the completely morally wrong things, Canada has refused to sign an International treaty on aboriginal rights

Canada has refused to participate in the effort in slowing down global warming.

Canada has removed the protection on over 90% of our lakes and clean water sources.

Canada has one of the worst records for child poverty in the the developed countries in the world

Canada has signed the TPP accord without ANY consultation with the public.

and on and on…

will we wake up?  At times I think  it’s already too late.  The damage is deep, not only in the sense of laws and written agreements.  But in the sense that a vast majority of Canadians are accepting without any protest all the above. The rhetoric is working, people will justify not helping another by saying: “Well I worked for mine, he should work for his…”  But life doesn’t work that way.  Life, like thunderstorms hits whenever and it doesn’t discriminate. So you are doing good today, tomorrow you don’t know, you may need help.  In the old days, Canadians had this wonderful view about help, about society, about a minimum necessary and available for all in the society so that this society could better itself, make great things, and think for the greater good, not just the selfish wants of the individual.

The corporate culture has permeated everything and all that matters is the bottom line.  The graph going up, even if it takes child labor to achieve it.  We sadly, are at that place in our society.  We are blinded, dumbed and deafened by the noise coming from the TV, the media living in bubbles.  We have given up our responsibilities as citizens… because we are not citizens anymore but… Consumers.  Yeah, if you look at most literature, a citizen is referred to as a consumer: one who consumes, buys.   So we go out and get our appetites satisfied, we cry for gas prices and tax hikes and we don’t react when all our basic citizens rights are being castrated in front of our eyes.  “yeah, it’s for our protection”  sure…

Sorry for the rant,but at this very moment I live in a country now run by a megalomaniac.  And the techniques are exactly the same as the ones used by the Harper government:  fear, dissension, lies and lies and lies and more lies, muzzling of the voices that dissent, the only difference at this point is that right now the president here feels it’s cool and all right to kill people right and left to create chaos so he can keep power.  Mr Harper is not quite there yet but if he has another mandate, with his bill C-51 he will be able to shut many down, to incarcerate whoever is a thorn on his thin skin, and that way will be able to continue the plunder of the country to the profit of outside interest or the very rich. It is just seemingly a little more discreet than what Erdogan in doing here, but in the end it’s the same thing.  People have lost their political voices and a mad man runs crazy.

We need something radically different.  We need to trust in the capacity of people.  Like the new employee, no he never held that position, done that job before, but heck, give him your confidence and he will shine.  Give him your support and he will surpass all expectations.  There is life beyond the conservatives and the liberals, those two have shown over and over that their foundations are rotten.   Their interest lie in big business, not in you and I and the children that go hungry.

I want to be able to be proud of my country.  Once upon a time we were the envy of the world with out kindness, openness, creativity and humility.

take that little bit of responsibility, vote so we can take back our country

.  A01

Leave a Reply

