Photos…

November 30, 2015

Yeah, that used to be a big topic on this blog… photos, then I got my camera stolen and I pretty much stopped taking pictures. Over a month ago I got a message from Karen, she lives in the house I used to rent in Richmond BC. She happened to get mail that was mine and it was money from royalties. I was in dire need of shoes, pants and a hoodie, my essentials, so I decided to buy these things on Ebay, I got the Levi’s jeans for 40 dollars a pair instead of over a hundred and they last me a few years of very hard wear. Then it came to my mind and first I thought… no … it’s luxury… I can’t justify it… and I pretty much gave up on taking photos (at first I felt like I had lost a limb) then I decided to just go for it. I found the model that followed the one I had, nothing fancy but good. A little Sony.

3 days ago I received the stuff. The hoodie came the wrong color, the shoes were a tiny bit too big (but I put extra insoles in them so they’re OK. The jeans are great but I put on some weight since I started working at the school so I can’t wear them now… (all the sugar I’ve been eating imagining that I am getting energy and combating stress with that… yeah I know..) But in the end, the camera, is the thing that made my heart jump…

Tonight after work, at around 8 PM I headed out from the school and got off the bus in Eyup. Tremulously, I started to take photos..

From Eyup, images from around the mosque and cemetary, remnants of city walls with a long, long history, Balat, the painting was a work from a foreign painter who put faces of local old men on buildings around the city, across the metro bridge. The moon said hi to me.. it was really, really great.

a02

A03

A05

A06

A07

A09

A10

A12

A14

A18

A19

A22

Leave a Reply

