How it is and this beautiful city

December 3, 2015

I must keep in mind that all the acts of madness are shown in the media, and that if all things are considered, if we are a few billion people on this earth, then, we can likely not be wrong by concluding that the majority of people are doing good things, or at least not doing bad things.

A bomb exploded in Istanbul yesterday, in some ways that’s business as usual. Then I just read that a couple dozen of people or so were killed by shooters with AK-47 in San Bernardino yesterday that took place in a center for children with disabilities… We are not required to evaluate and give a degree of badness… bad is bad.

As my awesome friend Forrest would say: Fuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuck… it’s too much. But before blaming anyone, I believe the first step to be taken is to stop yourself for a second and calm the fire that is rising, be it fueled by fear, anger, hatred, discomfort, frustration. We must freeze those before they come to pollute everything. Some famous guy said famously: “He who is without sin among you, let him be the first to throw a stone at her.” .the only change I would make is the “her” part for “him/her” just to be fair.

practice forgiveness for everything. Practice gratefulness for everything. It will literally change your mind.

The bomb you ask? All is fine. It was a mighty boom. I knew it was something serious… for those who know Istanbul it was in Bayrampasa and was heard all the way across the Bosphorus to Kadikoy. I got many messages on FB, I appreciate the sentiments, but in all truth, nowhere is safe on this earth and all we truly have is the very moment of the very now.

So today, after work, I decided to walk again, but this time all the way from Gaziosmanpasa to my home, that is 10.3 KM. I find that walking makes me less tired than getting on that bus…

Oh and how can I forget! With the help of a friend I bought a mattress… OH MY GOD.. I basically had BAD sleep since I moved here. First the mattress was OK, but then it kind of just dissolved and I was so in pain… I started sleeping on the couch which was only marginally better. I was hurting everywhere. Got the new bed last Thursday, it took about 4 nights for my body to really realize amd convince itself that it didn’t have to fight the surface it was lying on and finally let go. I am SO thankful for this mattress. Maybe that too has something to do with feeling stronger these last few days…

So yeah.. I walked back tonight and once again had the camera and experimented. The air was full of humidity, light fog that the camera just transformed into light..

this was before I left, from my window...

this was before I left, from my window…

Homemade tree protection

Homemade tree protection

Motorcycle shop in the night

Motorcycle shop in the night

the eerie sight of an empty play ground in the night

the eerie sight of an empty play ground in the night

the hospital and gate in the night

the hospital and gate in the night

gate in front of the hospital's garden

gate in front of the hospital’s garden

illuminated by fog night trees

illuminated by fog night trees

homes in Balat with neverending traffic passing by

homes in Balat

the Thieves church under renovations, also in Balat

the Thieves church under renovations, also in Balat

the subway's bridge in the distance

the subway’s bridge in the distance

Portside man made Monster like contraption

Portside man made Monster like contraption

Stairs and lines and vectors

Stairs and lines and vectors

Looking back

Looking back

lines, curves, water, city

lines, curves, water, city

remnant of the past

remnant of the past

on the boulevard

on the boulevard

more dwellings

more dwellings

down in the tea house

down in the tea house

My Street

My Street

going upstairs

going upstairs

Leave a Reply

