Night Walk in Rainy Istanbul

December 16, 2015

Oh the night…  Left home after spending about 5, 6 hours on the computer, first re-installing programs, then studying Javascript.  I sure am not an ace at that, but I’m starting to get the gist.

Outside, it was cold, winter is just about here, but I’ve got my “Canadian Hat” so all is good, I’m warm I have gloves and I am ready.  All I got with me is my keys, a little money “’cause you never know” and my camera.

Istanbul has many faces, as I walk they appear, one after another, eras, empires, economies, nature and man.  They all mix to make this city as chaotic and as unpredictable as can be.

aa03

This is my bus stop when I go to the school, it’s right across the Haliç or the Golden Horn as it is known.

aa001

The sun just set, the sky is giving me its sweet blues and I walk on.  I have to be careful, it’s slippery.  Everyone rushes around, end of day go, go, go.  I get across the boulevard to head towards Galata.  But first there is the Şişhane Metro station.  I am in love with all those textures found on the road and sidewalks, they motion and dance as we rush by.

aa0010

 

aa0011

Heading towards Galata, there is building, I don’t know its history but it is amazing, they have just uncovered it a couple of months ago… it’s magnificent, there is still construction going on, we cannot see the bottom part yet, but the upper floors are just beautiful.

aa0012

aa05

I pass Galata without taking photos, there is too much light actually, this street is a ‘light district’ they sell everything from lamps, bulbs, wire, switches, indoor-outdoor, anything for lighting is here, so the street is flooded by thousands of watts at this time, not good for my night shots

aa08

Stairs, they are not just any stairs, they are the Camondo Family’s stairs.

aa09

And of course I have to take a photo of a 2 wheeled vehicle..

aa11

OK he is blurry but this is one of the many who pull these gigantic two wheeled carts, they recycle: plastic, cardboard they go all over the city with these, I hear they make good money, I need to get a good shot of one of those..  He walking by one of the famous banks on Bankalar Caddesi. (with the blue lights) this was the Ottoman bank, where the Sultan had his money.

aa12

aa14

Karaköy, towards Galata Bridge on the way to the old city.

aa15

On the bridge there are always fishermen, I wouldn’t eat the fish… but they do fish them…  in the back Yeni Cami.

aa19

Drop of water on the lens, lights, on the “other side”

aa20

Here the tram, ferries all converge, people, people everywhere

aa22

The colors got my eye… a man and a cart and so many colors

aa0022

A tree…

aa24

The dark side of Yeni Cami…

aa26

the back side of Yeni Cami…

aa33

back across to Karakoy, Galata Tower ..well.. towering.. in the back.

aa35

Parked directly on the bridge, likely one of the fishermen’s steady steed

aa38

that stuff in the air are seagulls, it’s right next to the fish market and they are about to get a snack.

aa41

During the day this is the “painting supplies” area. At night, it’s dead quiet.

aa40

Many of the upper floors are abandoned, left standing until they rot from the top down.  So the roof leaks, you move down to the next floor below, until it’s inhabitable.

aa43

OK, I’m not sure why but I really like this…

aa44

More of “paint row at night”

aa47

yeah right…  crazy no?  there is a shop in the bottom.  This building is so old…  standing there…

aa50

Like a movie set…

aa51

And by the way, that is not Photoshopped, it is just what the camera and I can do with the light.

aa54

Karaköy Kahvesi

aa60

too cool no?

aa62

Now starting to look like a horror movie set

aa64

Woooaaaahhhh

aa68

Light at the end of the tunnel?

aa72

Or just cars racing by

aa76

back up towards Galata

aa79

angles and shades and bars

aa83

magic land

aa88

And back to my tower then the battery ran out of juice.

I hope you enjoyed your night walk in Istanbul.

Leave a Reply

